This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Malaysia

Malaysia is made up of 16 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Malaysia. Information on all primary administrative regions in Malaysia.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Malaysia alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Malaysia

There are 16 regions in Malaysia in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Malaysia
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Johor Johor1.3,348,283Johor Bahru Johor Bahru802,489
Kedah Kedah2.1,890,098Alor Setar Alor Setar217,368
Kelantan Kelantan3.1,635,000Kota Bharu Kota Bharu1,459,994
Kuala Lumpur Kuala Lumpur4.1,453,975Kuala Lumpur Kuala Lumpur1,453,975
Labuan Labuan5.86,908Victoria Victoria73,653
Melaka Melaka6.788,706Malacca Malacca180,671
Negeri Sembilan Negeri Sembilan7.997,071Seremban Seremban372,917
Pahang Pahang8.1,443,365Kuantan Kuantan366,229
Penang Pulau Pinang9.1,520,143George Town George Town300,000
Perak Perak10.2,258,428Ipoh Ipoh673,318
Perlis Perlis11.217,510Kangar Kangar63,869
Putrajaya Putrajaya12.67,964--
Sabah Sabah13.285,000Kota Kinabalu Kota Kinabalu457,326
Sarawak Sarawak14.2,420,009Kuching Kuching570,407
Selangor Selangor15.5,411,324Klang Klang879,867
Terengganu Terengganu16.1,015,776Kuala Terengganu Kuala Terengganu285,065